About Ohio University SPJ

Welcome to the blog of the Ohio University chapter of Society of Professional Journalists, winner of the 2013-2014 and 2015-2016 National Campus Chapter of the Year and Regional Chapter of the Year awards!

The OU SPJ chapter meets weekly in Schoonover (Tuesday at 5 p.m.) for great journalism discussion, tutorials and more. Past events hosted by this chapter include the co-hosted Ohio Sunshine Summit, the annual Grammar Smackdown competition, workshops on everything from basic coding to résumé design, debates involving the media’s treatment of marginalized groups, panel discussions with music journalists and a plethora of speakers, such as Mary Beth Tinker and Jeff Widener.

OU SPJ’s 2016 – 2017 Executive Board:

Maddie Capron, President

Mary Puzder, Vice President

Emily Leber, Treasurer

Kat Tenbarge, Programming Chair

Maggie Campbell, Publicity Chair

Connor Perrett, Fundraising Chair

Chapter Accolades

Outstanding Campus Chapter, Region 4
2002 – 2003, 2003 – 2004, 2004 – 2005, 2005 – 2006, 2006 – 2007, 2008 – 2009, 2009 – 2010, 2010 – 2011, 2011-2012, 2013-2014, 2014-2015, 2015-2016

National Outstanding Campus Chapter
2005 – 2006, 2009 – 2010, 2013-2014, 2015-2016


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s